The ID 2020 Design Workshop is bringing together leaders in the blockchain and cryptography industries to progress identity technology.


  • Bring together the top contributors in decentralized identity

  • Showcase use cases and requires for decentralized identity and trust

  • Discuss and suggest approaches to drive adoption of these technologies
  • Actions

    Generate technical white papers on topics that will have the greatest impact on the future, and align with the identity needs of the world.


    • Christopher Allen

      Christopher Allen

      Principal Architect at Blockstream
      Board Member at Identity 2020
      Former CTO Certicom and Co-Author TLS 1.0

    • Marta Piekarska

      Marta Piekarska

      Security Architect at Blockstream
      Lead Architect on the Future of Mobile Privacy at Deutsche Telekom

    • Ryan Shea

      Ryan Shea

      Co-founder of Onename
      Co-founder and CEO of Blockstack Lab
      Forbes 30 Under 30

    • Wayne Vaughan

      Wayne Vaughan

      Founder & CEO of Tierion
      Co-Author of the Chainpoint Protocol

    • Juan Benet

      Juan Benet

      Creator of IPFS
      Founder of Protocol Labs

    • Kaliya

      "Identity Woman"
      Kaliya Young

      Co-founder of The Internet Identity Workshop
      Independent advocate for digital identity

Manu Sporny

      Manu Sporny

      Founder/CEO of Digital Bazaar
      Founding Board Member of Spec-Ops
      Web Payments, Verifiable Claims, and Credentials at W3C

    • Jason Law

      Jason Law

      Co-founder and Chief Architect, Evernym
      Co-creator of Sovrin Distributed Identity Ledger

    • Justin Newton

      Justin Newton

      Founder and CEO of Netki

    • Susan Ramonat

      Susan Ramonat

      Current Blockchain Program Lead and Prior Chief Risk Officer at SEI Investments

    • Drummond Reed

      Drummond Reed

      CEO, Respect Network
      Co-Chair, OASIS XDI Technical Committee
      Co-Author, Respect Trust Framework

    • Markus Sabadello

      Markus Sabadello

      Founder of Danube Tech
      Development Partner at Respect Network

    • Les Chasen

      Les Chasen

      VP Engineering at Respect Network

    • Dave Crocker

      Dave Crocker

      Principal with Brandenburg InternetWorking
      Board Member at Trusted Domain Project

    • Shaun Conway

      Shaun Conway

      Founder of Consent

    • Mark Seiden

      Mark Seiden

      Security Advisor - Internet Archive
      Director of Security - 1010data
      Member of ICANN SSAC (Security and Stability Advisory Committee)

    • Igor Kruiper

      Igor Kruiper

      Principal Engineer at PwC UK

    • Kevin Gannon

      Kevin Gannon

      Principal Engineer at PwC UK

    • John Edge

      John Edge

      Co-Founder & Chairman of Identity 2020
      Cofounder & Managing Partner of PTB Holdings

    • Patrick Deegan

      Patrick Deegan

      Chief Architect Open Mustard Seed
      CTO Digital Identity Security Company (DISC)

    • Kiara Robles

      Kiara Robles

      Creator of blockchainMe,
      PGP identity on the blockchain

    • Christian Lundkvist

      Christian Lundkvist

      uPort Digital Identity and Wallet System Engineer at ConsenSys

    • George Samman

      George Samman

      Co-founder of BTC.sx
      Committee Chair Blockchain and Financial Services at Wall Street Blockchain Alliance
      Head of Blockchain Design & Integration
      at Meeco.me

    • Joe Andrieu

      Joe Andrieu

      Creator of the Standard Information Sharing Label
      Principal Engineer at First Person Consulting

    • Jon Geater

      Jon Geater

      Chief Technology Officer, Thales e-Security

    • Gary Zimmerman

      Gary Zimmerman

      CMO for the Respect Network

    Sponsored by






    Further Reading

    The complete documentation of the previous event is available in the github repository, including photos, drafts, and graphic output.