What is Web-Of-Trust

The Web of Trust is a buzzword for a new model of decentralized self-sovereign identity. It’s a phrase that dates back almost twenty-five years, the classic definition derives from PGP. But some use it as a term to include self-sovereign identity authentication & verification, certificate validation, and reputation assessment, while the vibrant blockchain community is also drawing new attention to the concept we aim to reboot it.

Past Events

All documentation for the event is open source on GitHub
  • 2016 Website and Repository
  • 2015 Website and Repository
  • Future Goals

    At each Rebooting the Web of Trust event we collaboratively create white papers and specifications on topics that will have the greatest impact on the future of self-sovereign identity.

    More details on the upcoming September 2016 are coming soon.

    The complete documentation of the previous event is available in the github repository, including photos, drafts, and graphic output.


    • Christopher Allen

      Christopher Allen

      Principal Architect at Blockstream, Board Member at Identity 2020, Former CTO Certicom and Co-Author TLS 1.0

    • Peter Todd

      Peter Todd

      Applied Cryptography Consultant

    • John Light

      John Light

      Co-Founder at Bitseed

    • Manu Sporny

      Manu Sporny

      Founder/CEO of Digital Bazaar, Founding Board Member of Spec-Ops, Web Payments, Verifiable Claims, and Credentials at W3C

    • Drummond Reed

      Drummond Reed

      Co-Founder & CEO, Respect Network

    • Christian Lundkvist

      Christian Lundkvist

      Creator and Chief Architect of uPort

    • Marta Piekarska

      Marta Piekarska

      Security Engineer at Blockstream

    • Jonathan Wilkins

      Jonathan Wilkins

      Founder and CSO at Blockstream

    • Kiara Robles

      Kiara Robles

      SysAdmin at Blockstream

    • Glenn Willen

      Glenn Willen

      Core Tech Engineer at Blockstream

    • Daniel Buchner

      Daniel Buchner

      Head of Decentralized Identity at Microsoft

    • Harlan Wood

      Harlan Wood

      Co-Founder & CTO at CoMakery

    • Jason Law

      Jason Law

      Evernym CTO, Sovrin Foundation Trustee

    • Wayne Vaughan

      Wayne Vaughan

      CEO at Tierion

    • Lohan Spies

      Lohan Spies

      Co-Founder Consent

    • Dmitry Khovratovich

      Dmitry Khovratovich

      Security Researcher and Blockchain Consultant at University of Luxembourg

    • Joe Andrieu

      Joe Andrieu

      Principal at First Person Consulting

    • Jonathan Endersby

      Jonathan Endersby

      CTO at Consent

    • Kaliya

      "Identity Woman"
      Kaliya Young

      Co-founder of The Internet Identity Workshop, Independent advocate for Digital Identity

    • Matt David

      Matt David

      Senior Software Engineer at Netki

    • Matthew Schutte

      Matthew Schutte

      Member of the Metacurrency Project

    • Natalie Smolenski

      Natalie Smolenski

      Senior Account Manager and Cultural Anthropologist at Learning Machine

    • Noah Thorp

      Noah Thorp

      Founder, CEO at CoMakery

    • Pavel Kravchenko

      Pavel Kravchenko

      Founder at Distributed Lab

    • Patrick Deegan

      Patrick Deegan

      Founder at DAC Technologies

    • Shaun Conway

      Shaun Conway

      Founder & Executive Chairman at Consent

    • Tim Daubenschuetz

      Tim Daubenschuetz

      Developer at Bigchaindb GmbH